U18 Women’s Worlds Championship

How to watch U18 Women’s Worlds Championship: Schedule, Channel, live stream, TV guide

The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) began 2023 with the final days of the 2023 World Juniors, in which Canada won gold by defeating Czechia in overtime of the championship game. However, the international hockey competition does not end there. More players are representing their countries, beginning this weekend with the 2023 IIHF World Women’s U18 Championship. Team Canada and Sweden are going to face gold medal in IIHF 2023 World Women’s Championship today

The 2023 Women’s U18 Worlds will be held at the Ostersund Arena in Ostersund, Sweden. The facility has two rinks and is home to Ostersund IK, a Swedish hockey club that competes in HockeyAllsvenskan, Sweden’s second tier of professional hockey.

2023 U18 Women’s Worlds Championship Details

  • Location: Östersund, Sweden
  • Venue: Ostersund Arena
  • When: January 8 to Jan-15
  • TV Channel: TSN/RDS/NHL Network
  • TV channels: TSN (CA), NHL Network (US)
  • Stream: TSN.live (Ca), FuboTV (US)

The week-long competition will bring together eight teams in Sweden. It’s an opportunity for the best 16- and 17-year-old women’s hockey players to compete for a medal while also showcasing their talent on the international stage. Canada is the tournament’s reigning champion, having defeated the United States in the gold-medal game in 2022. Since the competition’s inception in 2008, the two North American countries have been the only ones to win gold.

How to watch 2023 IIHF Women’s U18 Worlds Championship

Canadian viewers can tune in to TSN or stream the games via TSN.ca or the TSN app. The Group A games, as well as the fifth-place game, quarterfinals, semifinals, and medal games, will be available on the platform. NHL Network will be available on fuboTV in the United States. You can streams NHL Network via fuboTV free for 7 days trial.


IIHF Women’s U18 Worlds Standings

Group A

TeamGame PlayedPoints

Group B

TeamGame PlayedPoints

The 2023 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship is shown in several countries by broadcasters on TV and/or stream.

  • Canada: TSN, RDS
  • Finland: Discovery
  • Sweden: SVT, SVHTV
  • USA: NHL Network

2023 Women’s U18 Worlds Schedule

The 2023 tournament is scheduled to begin on Sunday, January 8, and end on Sunday, January 15. The group stage will last four days, with games on the eighth, ninth, and eleventh. The quarterfinals will be played on January 12, the fifth-place game and semifinals on January 14, and the bronze and gold medal games on January 15.

January 8, SundayCzechia vs. Switzerland6 a.m.
January 8, SundaySlovakia vs. Japan8 a.m.
January 8, SundayUSA vs. Sweden10 a.m.
January 8, SundayCanada vs. Finland2 p.m.
January 9, MondayJapan vs. Czechia6 a.m.
January 9, MondayUSA vs. Finland10 a.m.
January 9, MondaySlovakia vs. Switzerland12 p.m.
January 9, MondaySweden vs. Canada2 p.m.
January 11, WednesdayCzechia vs. Slovakia6:00 a.m.
January 11, WednesdayFinland vs. Sweden10 a.m.
January 11, WednesdaySwitzerland vs. Japan12 p.m.
January 11, WednesdayCanada vs. USA2 p.m.
January 15, SundayCanada vs Sweden2 p.m ET

2023 Women’s U18 Worlds Groups

The teams consist of two groups A and B. Group A includes the teams Canada, USA, Finland and Sweden. Group B consists of the teams Czechia Switzerland Slovakia and Japan. Group A’s four teams all advance to the knockout stage. The top two teams in Group A advance to the semifinals, while the third and fourth teams compete in the quarterfinals. Only the top two teams from Group B advance to the quarterfinals. The bottom two will face off in a best-of-three relegation match.

Group A

  • Canada
  • Finland
  • USA
  • Sweden

Group B

  • Czechia
  • Slovakia
  • Switzerland
  • Japan

Sweden is hosting the tournament for the second time. The Women’s U18 Worlds were previously held in Stockholm in 2011. The 2021 tournament was supposed to take place in Sweden, in the cities of Linköping and Mjölby, but it was canceled due to COVID-19. Within their group, teams will play four preliminary games in a round-robin format, followed by a three-round playoff. Teams earn three points for a regulation win, two points for an overtime win, one point for an overtime loss, and no points for a regulation loss in the group stage.

It is sure to be an exhilarating week for all ice hockey fans as they watch these teams display their talents on the international stage.


Related Posts