World Rugby Sevens in Sydney 2023: preview, dates, way to watch Rugby 7s Live

On January 27–29, Sydney, Australia, will host the most recent round of the men’s and women’s rugby 7s action in the 2022–23 World Rugby Sevens Series. New Zealand, the defending Olympic champions, leads the women’s rankings heading into round four after winning in Hamilton last week. However, Australia, the World Series champions from the previous year, is just behind them and will be hoping to close that deficit in front of their home crowd.

It won’t be simple, but try to keep an eye on the Black Ferns’ lightning-quick winger Michaela Blyde, who scored a hat-trick in the final last week. Additionally, the home team’s Charlotte Caslick is a constant threat on offense and defense.

Here’s everything that you need to know 2023 HSBC World Rugby Sevens in Sydney tournament details, including where and how to watch the HSBC Sydney 7s rugby online on your pc, TV, or mac.

Watch Rugby 7s live online via RugbyPass

HSBC Sydney 7s Schedule


Friday, 27 January

02:00 – 10:10 – Group matches

Saturday, 28 January

02:06 – 04:10 – Group matches

07:54 – 09:15 – Quarter-finals

Sunday, 29 January – Monday, 30 January

23:10 – 10:10 – Knockout and play-off matches


Friday, 27 January

04:22 – 07:10 – Group matches

Saturday, 28 January

23:00 – 07:30 – Group matches

09:37 – 11:15 – Quarter-finals

Sunday, 29 January – Monday, 30 January

23:54 – 10:40 – Knockout and play-off matches

How to stream HSBC  Sydney 7s Rugby live online

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Sydney 2023 can be streamed via PremiumTV from anywhere. PremiumTv offers only $9.99 (no future payment) for all of the games in Sydney Rugby 7s, so rugby fans around the world can be streamed via PremiumTV Rugby this week without cable. One-time payment base OTT platform serving the world’s best live coverage during the game time.

2023 HSBC Sydney Sevens storyline

The New Zealand men’s team has already secured a spot in round 4 after it won a thriller in Hamilton a few days back. The proficient team of New Zealand currently in great form is looking to bag the title. Michaela Blyde, the holder of the 2017 and 2018 World Rugby Sevens player of the year title, is a competent opponent to look out for. At the same time, the Australian National Team is looking to defend its title as Champions of the 2022 Rugby World Cup sevens. Charlotte Caslick, Olympic gold medalist and Australian national sensation is all geared up to take the title home.

In the men’s tournament in Sydney, Pool A sees Hamilton winners Argentina drawn with hosts Australia, Great Britain and Canada. Pool B is led by current Series leaders New Zealand, together with South Africa, Kenya and Uruguay. USA, Ireland, Samoa and Spain will compete in Pool C. Double Olympic champions Fiji will be looking to return to form and are in Pool D with France, invitational side Tonga and Japan.

Some important notes about Sydney 7s

  • The HSBC Sydney Sevens returns to action on 27-29 January for the first time since 2020
  • Hosts Australia are reigning men’s and women’s Series champions
  • New Zealand’s All Blacks Sevens and Black Ferns Sevens lead current Series standings
  • The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023 is the most competitive in history with Paris 2024 Olympic qualification the prize for the top four teams
  • Play begins at 12:00 local time (GMT+11) on Friday, with the finals on Sunday


Related Posts